About me/Contact

My name is Julie Waites. I have sea kayaked, scuba dived and attempted to surf but until May 2016 I had never been on a yacht let alone sailed. I first saw the Clipper race in 2010 when they came into Hull, but it took me 5 years before I took the leap and applied to join the race.

I have worked in the food industry for many years. On graduating with a Food Science degree I worked for Marr Seafood’s for 2 years, Unilever for 8 years and am currently working for Seafish . My skills include account management, project management, conference and seminar organisation. I have travelled extensively in my career which has allowed me to build up a huge portfolio in the food sector around the world.

My main hobby is horse riding which I still continue. I have two horses, a 16.2hh dark bay mare ID X TB called Abbie and a 15hh Connemara gelding called Alfie. My main interests have been show jumping, showing and trail hunting.

I also enjoy cooking, hiking and travelling. I have been lucky enough to have travelled extensively, including back packing solo around the world when I was 21 years old, returning 14 months later.  Therefore to now take on the challenge of crossing oceans has been on my bucket list for a while – once I learn to sail.

Finally a couple of kind words from my family:

‘If determination, dedication and enthusiasm have anything to do with it you will be miles out in front’ – Christine Snowden, step-mother

‘I know you can do it, whenever you have set your mind on something you have always given it your all, so proud of you’ – Pat Watkins, Mother.